delicious discourse

Giant Chocolate-Toffee Cookies

Posted in recipe by delicious:discourse on March 3, 2008

One of the jobs I daydream about at my current job is working in a test kitchen at Bon Appetit or Gourmet Magazine. One of the reasons is for recipes like their Giant Chocolate-Toffee cookies, which have rustic simplicity but are so delicious they almost stopped me in my tracks. I took some into work today and the general consensus was I should open a bakery…just what I want to hear. My boss said “your cookies taste like brownies”, and they do have the brownie chocolate-ness, but they are crispy on the outside with a soft middle full of walnuts and chopped up Heath Bar. The only word Jason in billing could get out of his mouth was “phenomenal” when he came back for more. I like to think they rendered him speechless. Oh, the power of food. I cannot help but think they would be even more mind-blowing, if that is even possible, warmed up with a scoop of gelato (my choice would be peanut butter and nutella) plopped on top. Here is a picture, courtesy of Bon Appetit. My food photography is not up to par and I would not want to deter you from making this recipe!

chocolatetoffeecookies.jpg

Giant Chocolate-Toffee Cookies (Bon Appetit)

1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
1 lb. bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
13/4 cups (packed) brown sugar
4 large eggs
1 T vanilla extract
5 1.4-ounce chocolate-covered English toffee bars (such as Heath), coarsely chopped
1 cup walnuts, chopped (you can toast them if you like)Notes: I bought one chunk of bittersweet chocolate from my local gourmet grocery store and chopped it into pieces small enough to put in the food processor and chopped it up that way. It makes for very quick melting too.

Also, I do not own a double broiler, so I brought a saucepan of water to a simmer and placed a heat safe bowl, big enough to rest on the edges of the pan, into the pan and stirred as the chocolate melted.
Directions: Preheat oven to 350°F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment or butter the pans.

Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt in small bowl to blend. Stir chocolate and butter in top of double boiler set (if you do not have a double broiler, look at notes) over simmering water until melted and smooth. Remove from over water. Cool mixture to lukewarm.

Using a mixer, beat sugar and eggs in bowl until thick, about 5 minutes. Beat in chocolate mixture and vanilla. Stir in flour mixture. Then add toffee and nuts. Chill batter until firm, about 45 minutes.

Drop batter by 1/4 cupfuls (I used an ice cream scoop) onto sheets, spacing 2 1/2 inches apart. Bake just until tops are dry and cracked but cookies are still soft to touch, about 15 minutes.

Enjoy!!!!

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

